Dilantha Leads Team Porsche To Pole, Jazeman In Fifth

Sri Lankan, Dilantha Malagamuwa powered Singapore Racing Team to the pole position for tomorrow grand race. Photo by KF Chow (chow@malaysiacurrent.com)

24th August, Sepang - Malaysian Super Series defending champion Dilantha Malagamuwa of Sri Lanka made full use of his knowledge of Sepang Circuit to power his Porsche Club Singapore Racing Team to pole position for tomorrow's 2007 Petronas Primax 3 Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race at Sepang Circuit.

Partnering Singaporean Mok Weng Sun and Ringo Chong, Dilantha helped the team with a aggregate time of 2 minutes 9.654 seconds around the 5.543-km Formula One track in a powerful Porsche 911 GT3 RSR race machine, which the Sri Lankan used in the Dubai 24Hour endurance.

"The track is very slippery due to rain ... but testing on the car had been superb and the car in tip top condition," said Dilantha, winner of the Supercar Championship last year and currently in close battle with Malaysian Wira Dani Daim in this year's Malaysian Super Series.

"We are ready for wet or dry tomorrow," he said, but predicted a close race tomorrow.

Favourites Petronas Syntium Racing Team with racing legend Hans Joachim Stuck, Johannes Stuck and Malaysian Fariqe Hairuman was third fastest in their BMW Z4 Coupe behind Team Juniper of Singapore, which clocked 2 minutes 11.038s seconds.

Malaysian favourite Jazeman Jaafar was superb in his first competitive drive in the MME, helping the team to fifth overall fastest at a time of 2 minutes 15.052 seconds.

Driving a Proton Satria Neo in Class A, Tengku Djan Ley Tengku Mahaleel, overall winner in 2005 and 2006, helped Proton R3 Motorsports, to sixth position in the battle of the 1600cc machines with a time of 2 minutes 40.264 seconds.

The 12-hour race will be flagged off tomorrow by Deputy Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Liow Tiong Lai at 11am.

Top 10 Qualifiers

1. Porsche Club Singapore (Mok Weng Sun Ringo Chong, Dilantha  Malagamuwa) 2:09.654s

2. Team Juniper Porsche (Shaun Juniper, Paul Kelly, Craig Bird) 2:11.038s

3. Petronas Syntium Racing Team (Hans Stuck, Johannes Stuck, Fariqe Hairuman) 2:11.201s

4. Hong Leong-Kencana Racing (Mokhzani Mahathir, Sven Herberger, Lars Erik Nielsen) 2:13.603s

5. Proton R3 (Jazeman Jaafar, Tommy Lee, Bill Ng) 2:15.052s 6. Danville Motorsports (Mal Rose, Ric Shaw,Layton Crambrook) 2:16.086s

7. LKM Racing (Siu Tit Lung, Sik Yuk Lung, Keita Sawa) 2:17.342s

8. VRD Motorsports (Ian Ross Geekie, Marc Cini, David Reynolds) 2:19.385s

9. Fugazi Racing (Rizal Ashram Ramli, Wira Dani Daim, Tseu Chee Kee) 2:19.429s

10. ARC Bratislava (Miroslav Konopka, Miroslav Hornak, Markus Lungstrass) 2:21.912s

Top Qualifiers by class

Class O (open class)
Porsche Club Singapore (Mok Weng Sun Ringo Chong, Dilantha Malagamuwa) 2:09.654s

Class A (production cars above 1900cc)
Team APP Mitsubishi (Apathorn Ranasuta, Piti Bhirombhakdee, Desmond Soh) 2:23.184s

Class B (production cars between 1601cc and 1900cc)
Type R Racing (Wong Yew Choong, Tek Kean Keang, Soh Kee Koon) 2:37.448s

Class C (production cars below 1600cc
Team Ultra Racing (Kenny Lee, Sherwood, Chris o'Shannessy) 2:36.810s

To catch the exciting news and watch latest result on Merdeka Millennium Endurance, visit www.malaysiangp.com.my for more info or contact Azhar Ghazali at 019-3837865


Copyright © 2007 MalaysiaCurrent. All rights reserved.



Merdeka Millennium Endurance Should Remain As a 12 hours Race, Says Stuck

Repair Works Start On Sepang Track

Jazeman Having One Great Time At The Merdeka Endurance Race

Hong Leong Kencana Wins MME In Sensational Style