Wira Dani Is Tops In The Malaysian Super Series

Photo by KF Chow

26th May, Sepang  - Blazing through a newly re-surfaced track Sepang Circuit South Track, Wira Dani Daim clocked the fastest lap time to take pole position for the opening race of the Supercar Championship at the 2007 Malaysian Super Series (MSS) tomorrow.

Driving the superlight Radical SR3, Wira Dani took 1 minute 4.818 seconds to cover the twisty 2.609-km track with Sri Lankan Dilantha Malagamuwa clocking the second fastest time of 1 minute 6.039 seconds to share the front row for Race 1 tomorrow.

Currently locked together on 35 points at the top of the Supercar Championship standings, both Wira and Dilantha were clearly in a class of their own and looked set to make the battle for the coveted supercar crown a private duel between them.

"I will make sure my starting goes perfect tomorrow. The car is good; it's now up to me not to make any mistake," said the Round 1 winner, who declared that he is optimistic of a double victory tomorrow.

As expected, many drivers found difficulties around the track especially in negotiating the sharp Turn 9 and the fast Turn 13 due to the lack of grip of the newly resurfaced track especially during the free practice session.

The re-surfacing of the track is part of a massive upgrading exercise of Sepang Circuit since earlier this year and re-surfing works on the other 2.706-km North Track are already on the way and due for completion within the first week of June.

The fresh surface, however, did not appear to bother Eddie Lew in the Supersaloon Championship as he clocked a quick 1 minute 9.754 seconds in his 2000cc Honda Integra machine; edging championship leader Wong Yew Choong.

"I lose Round 1, so I must win Round 2 to win the overall title this year," said Eddie, who is the Supersixteen champion in 2003.

Yew Choong, who is chasing a double win in the supersaloon and supersixteen championships, was also beaten in the battle of 1600cc machines by Harry Chai; leaving the defending champion a mountaineous task tomorrow in keeping his advantage.

In the battle of the sub-1000cc Supercompact machines, defending champion and winner of the opening round K. Perajun was downed by mechanical problems and would start from the back of the grid. Syazril Amri clocked the fastest time of 1:24.774 in his turbo-powered Perodua Kancil.

Simon Westbrook was fastest among the classic car drivers with a time of 1 minute 9.449 seconds in his trusted TVR V8 machine while Farriz Fauzy was fastest among the JPM Integra Cup runners.

The drivers would compete in two races tomorrow with the grid positions for Race 2 to be determined by the drivers' individual results in Race 1.

2007 Malaysian Super Series - Round 2 (Cars)
Sepang Circuit South Track - 2.609km
Top five qualifiers

Supercar Championship
1. Wira Dani Daim (Radical SR3) 1:04.818s
2. Dilantha Malagamuwa (Porsche 996) 1:06.039s
3. Peter Hills (Mazda RX7) 1:07.468s
4. Angus Kirkwood (Radical SR3) 1:08.929s
5. Stewart Seatter (Porsche KSR) 1:13.810s

Supersaloon Championship
1. Eddie Lew (Honda Integra DC5) 1:09.754s
2. Wong Yew Choong (Honda Integra) 1:10.064s
3. Sharjihan Ghouse (Honda Integra) 1:11.220s
4. Soh Kee Koon (Honda Integra DC5) 1:11.931s
5. Tek Kean Kang (Honda Integra DC5) 1:17.403s

Supersixteen Championship
1. Harry Chai (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.026
2. Wong Yew Choong (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.256
3. Ian Lee (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.261
4. Kelvin Low (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.668
5. Indran kanavaji (Honda Civic EK) 1:14.835

Supercompact Championship
1. Syazril Amri (Kancil Turbo) 1:24.774
2. Chew Koon Ming (Kancil Turbo) 1:25:601
3. Chan Yoon Voon (Kancil Turbo) 1: 27.113
4. Yap yue neng (Kancil Turbo) 1:29.320
5. Jefri Jamaluddin (Daihatsu Mira Turbo) 1:33.650

JPM Integra Cup Malaysia
1. Farriz Fauzy (JPM Integra) 1:12.288s
2. Rizal Ashram Ramli (JPM Integra) 1:12.483s
3. Sharjahan Ghouse (JPM Integra) 1:12.931s
4. Choo Kwong Ming (JPM) Integra) 1:13.167s
5. Faizal Hakimi (JPM Integra) 1:13.183s

Hong Kong Classic Car Series
1. Simon Westbrook (TVR V8) 1:09.449s
2. Nick Thomas (Porsche 911) 1: 09.713s
3. Joe Sevack (Porsche 911) 1:10.093s
4. Daniel Bilski (TVR Griffin) 1:13.057s
5. Michael Ricks (Corvette Stingray) 1:13.366s

For details, contact the Press Officer Azhar Ghazali at 019-3837865.


Copyright © 2007 MalaysiaCurrent. All rights reserved.


Wira Dani Stuns Dilantha In Malaysian Super Series At Sepang
Lee Ching Hooi Makes Come Back In Malaysian Super Series
Wira Dani, Dilantha Remain Even At Malaysian Super Series
Brent Odgers Scores Double Victory At Malaysian Super Series